Shared Drives in G Suite Business

Shared Drives in G Suite Business

What are Shared Drives?

Think of shared drives as a space where teams can easily store, search, and access common files anywhere, from any device.

Unlike files in My Drive, files in a shared drive belong to the team instead of an individual. Even if team members leave, the files stay put so you—and the rest of the team—can continue to access information and get work done.

What can you do with shared drives?

Create a shared drive for your projects or team to share information and work. Here is a list of features and a description of each feature:

  • You can find files after an employee leaves- Your organization owns the files in a shared drive, not an individual. When an employee leaves and an admin deletes their account, their files remain in shared drives. 
  • Improved sharing rules- All members of a shared drive see the same content.
  • Content discoverability- Adding a user to a group in Google Groups automatically adds them to all the shared drives that include that group. 
  • Synchronize content on your desktop- Users can access their shared drives on their computer using Drive File Stream. For details on setting it up for your organization, see  Deploy Drive File Stream.
  • Add external users to shared drives- You can add users outside of your organization to a shared drive. If you do:
    • The shared drive appears in the external user’s Google Drive.
    • Any work an external user contributes (for example, edits to, creating, or uploading a file) is transferred to an owned by the domain that created the shared drive. 
    • The external user must have a Google account and be signed into Drive

Create a shared drive" "

  1. Open Google Drive.
  2. On the left, click Shared drives.
  3. At top, click Plus New.
  4. Enter a name and click Create.

Create a shared drive

Add members and set access levels

" "

When you add new members, they’re given Content manager access. You can change a member’s access level.

Note: Give members who need to edit files in Drive File Stream Content manager access.

Permission Manager Content manager Contributor Commenter Viewer

Can view files and folders

Done Done Done Done Done

Can comment on files

Done Done Done Done Delete

Can edit files

Done Done Done Delete Delete

Can create and add files, can create folders

Done Done Done Delete Delete

Can add people to specific files

Done Done Done Delete Delete

Can restore files from the Trash (up to 30 days)

Done Done Done Delete Delete

Can move files from My Drive to a shared drive

Done Done Done Delete Delete

Can move files and folders to the Trash

Done Done Delete Delete Delete

Can move files and folders within a shared drive

Done Done Delete Delete Delete

Can move files from one shared drive to another shared drive

Done Delete Delete Delete Delete

Can add or remove members of a shared drive

Done Delete Delete Delete Delete

Can change member access levels

Done Delete Delete Delete Delete

Can permanently delete files in the Trash

Done Delete Delete Delete Delete

Add members and set access levels:

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, under the shared drive name, click Add members.
  3. Add names, email addresses, or groups from Google Groups.
  4. (Optional) To change the access level, next to Content manager, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and choose an access level.
  5. (Optional) Enter a message.
  6. (Optional) If you don’t want to send a notification to the new members, check the Skip sending notifications box.
  7. Click Send or Add.

Add members to a team drive

Change member access levels" "

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenManage members.
  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and select a new access level.
  4. Click Done.

Set access levels for members

Remove members

" "

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenManage members.
  3. Next to a member’s name, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and select Remove member.
  4. Click Done.

Note: If you remove someone from a shared drive, they might still have access to files shared in other ways, such as files shared with everyone in your organization by link or through a group.

Remove members

Add files and folders

" "

Create a new folder:

  1. On the left, click a shared drive or existing folder.
  2. Click Plus Newand thenFolder.
  3. Enter a folder name and click Create.

Notes:

  • To move folders into a shared drive that are already stored in My Drive or another shared drive, contact your G Suite administrator.
  • Subfolders must have the same permission as the top-level folder.

Upload an existing folder from your computer:

  1. On the left, click a shared drive folder.
  2. On your computer, drag an existing folder into a shared drive. Or, click Plus Newand thenFolder upload. Navigate to the folder and open it.

Upload a folder from your computer

Add and edit files

" "

Requires at least Contributor access

Any files you add are owned by the team. If you leave the shared drive, your files remain.

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. Drag an existing file (that you own*) from your computer or from My Drive into a shared drive. Or, click Plus New and choose an option:
    • To create a file, select the file type you want to create, such as Google Docs.
    • To upload a file, click File upload. Navigate to the file and open it.
  3. Double-click a file to open and edit it.

*If you don’t own the file but have Can edit access in Drive, you can move it to a shared drive if your G Suite administrator has allowed this option.

Note: To store and access files on your desktop, use Drive File Stream. See Get started with Drive.

Add shared files

Shared drives are only available with the G Suite Business, Enterprise, Education, or Nonprofit editions. If you are interested in shared drives, please contact us at support@newmediaone.net or 303.828.9882. 
Copyright © *2018 New Media One*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
720 Austin Ave, Suite 202
Erie, CO 80516

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.






Add A Comment