Priority & Workspaces in Google Drive

Google Drive – Priority & Workspaces

If you use G Suite and Google Drive, you’re likely familiar with at least two ways to access files on My Drive and Team Drives. When you know the location of a file, you navigate through the My Drive or Team Drive folder structure until you arrive at the file you need. When you don’t know the location of a file, you enter keywords into the Google Drive search box, then review the returned results. Google Drive Priority and Workspaces gives people who use G Suite two alternative ways to access and organize Drive files.

Google Drive Priority is a good example of Google’s AI systems put to practical use: “Here are files we think you want,” the system suggests. Similarly, when you create a Workspace, the system may suggest files to add: “Add these files too?” it asks. Together, Priority and Workspaces should help people access relevant files faster.

The new Priority page in Drive which was released at the end of March is a new way to help you stay focused and get work done. This page will help you access the files you need through a combination of suggestions and workspaces. With the new Priority page, not only are the most relevant files served up to you, but you can take action on them, as well as sort them into workspaces. This should make accessing your most important files easier and help you work more efficiently. 

You can access the Priority page from the left-hand navigation panel in Drive. Some features you’ll see on the Priority page include:
  • Priority: 
    • Here you’ll see the documents we think are most relevant to you right now. These machine-learning-powered suggestions are based on various signals from your activity. On each suggested document, you can also take actions in line, without navigating to the doc in question, like replying to a comment or reviewing recent edits.
  • Workspaces: 
    • In Workspaces, you’ll be able to see intelligent suggestions of related content to group together for easier access— like multiple files related to the same project. 
    • You can also create your own personalized Workspaces collecting any files you have access to, including content stored in your My Drive and various Team Drives. 
      • Right-click on any file and select Add to Workspace to dynamically group files as you work.
If users would like to make Priority their default home page, they can do so in their settings, which is accessible via the gear icon in the upper righthand corner.

How to Create a Workspace

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. At the left, click Priority.
  3. Under “Workspaces”, click Create Workspace.
  4. Enter a name for the Workspace and click Create.
Add and remove files to your Workspace
  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. At the left, click Priority.
  3. Below the Workspace you want to add files to, click View Workspace and then Add files.
  4. At the right, select the file or files you want to add.
  5. Click Insert.

Note: You can also right click any file in your Drive to add it to a Workspace.

To remove a file, right click a file in your Workspace and click Remove from Workspace.


Delete a Workspace

When you delete a Workspace, the Workspace is permanently deleted, but the files remain in their original location.

  1. On your computer, go to drive.google.com.
  2. At the left, click Priority.
  3. Next to the name of the Workspace you want to delete, click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  4. Click Remove Workspace.
Copyright © *2018 New Media One*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
720 Austin Ave, Suite 202
Erie, CO 80516

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.






Add A Comment