Managing Files and Folders in Shared Drives- G Suite

Managing Files and folders in Shared Drives- G Suite

Below is some very helpful information to help with managing files and folders while working with Shared Drives in G Suite.

 Manage files and folders

" "

Star important files:


Flag important files or folders to quickly find them later.

  1. Right-click a file or folder and select Add to Starred.
  2. (Optional) To see all your starred files and folders, on the left, click Starred.

Star files

Move files

" "

To move files from My Drive into a shared drive or between shared drives, drag the files into the destination shared drive. To move folders, contact your G Suite admin.

Move files from My Drive to a shared drive:

You can move any file you own into a shared drive, whether it’s from another Drive location or from your computer or mobile device.

If you’re not the owner of a file in My Drive, but you have Edit access to the file, you might be able to move that file into a shared drive, if:

  • Your G Suite admin has enabled this option.
  • The file’s owner is a member of the shared drive where you want to move the file.

Otherwise, you need to ask the owner to move the file into the shared drive.

Move files between shared drives:

To move files between shared drives, you need Manager access to the original shared drive and at least Contributor access to the destination shared drive.

Move files between shared drives

Delete or restore files

" "

Move a file to trash:

Requires at least Content manager access

  1. Click the file you want to delete.
  2. At the top, click Trash Delete.
  3. Click Delete For Everyone.

The file moves to the shared drive’s Trash folder. Files in a shared drive’s Trash folder are automatically deleted after 30 days.

Permanently delete a file in trash:

Requires Manager access

  1. In the Trash folder, right-click the file you want to delete and select Delete forever.
  2. Click Delete Forever to confirm.

Restore a file (up to 30 days):

Requires at least Contributor access

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenView trash.
  3. Click the fileand thenRestore Restore.

Delete shared files

Delete a shared drive

" "

Tip: If you aren’t ready to delete a shared drive, but you aren’t actively using it, you can hide it. Hiding a shared drive removes it from your view. See Best practices for shared drives.

Requires Manager access

  1. Make sure the shared drive is empty.

    If you want to keep files or folders, move them to My Drive. Or, to delete them, move them to the trash.

  2. Right-click the shared drive that you want to deleteand thenclick Delete shared drive.
  3. Click Delete Shared Drive to confirm.

Delete shared drive

Search for files

" "

Search in a shared drive:

  1. Right-click a shared drive and click Search within shared drive name.
  2. In the Search box, enter your search term and press Enter.

Search and find shared files

Any files you put in a shared drive are automatically shared with members for the shared drive. Any member can also share files with people who aren’t members unless you restrict sharing. 
 

Share files

" "

Requires at least Contributor access

Just like in Drive, there are different ways to share files in shared drives with people who aren’t members of the shared drive.

Note: Folders in shared drives can’t be shared. Also, your ability to share files might be limited by your organization. Ask your G Suite admin for more information.

Share files with individuals or groups:

  1. In a shared drive, click the file you want to share.
  2. At the top, click Share Share.
  3. Add names, email addresses, or groups from Google Groups.
  4. (Optional) To change the permission from Edit, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and choose another permission.
  5. (Optional) Add a message.
  6. (Optional) If you don’t want to send notifications, check the Skip sending notification box.
  7. Click Send or Add.

To limit sharing options, see Restrict sharing options on sensitive Drive files.

Share files

Share a link:

To make a file widely accessible and avoid managing access in your organization, you can share the file with a link. Anyone in your organization who gets the link can access the file. Optionally, you can let other users share the link with people that are not in your organization.

  1. In a shared drive, click the file you want to share.
  2. At the top, click Share Share.
  3. Click Who has access.
  4. Next to Link sharing off, click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  5. Next to Link Sharing, click Turn on Turn on to make the link accessible to anyone in your organization.
  6. Under the URL, click the Down arrow Down Arrow and select a permission level.
  7. (Optional) To allow sharing the link outside of your organization, check the Allow external access box.

    Note: If you don’t see this option, contact your G Suite administrator.

  8. (Optional) To make the document searchable in Drive, check the Findable in search results box.
  9. Click Copy to copy the link.
  10. Click Done.
  11. Paste the link in an email, on a website, or wherever you need to share it.

Share a link

Unshare files

" "

Unshare files with your organization:

  1. In a shared drive, click the file you want to unshare.
  2. Click Share Share.
  3. Click Who has access.
  4. Next to Link Sharing, click Turn off Turn off.
  5. Click Done.

Unshare files

Unshare files with individuals:

  1. In a shared drive, click the file you want to unshare.
  2. Click Share Share.
  3. Click Who has access.
  4. Next to the shared drive, click the Down arrow Down Arrow.
  5. Next to the person, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenRemove.
  6. Click Done.

Note: Group settings can override individual settings. So, if you try to unshare a file with a person who belongs to an organization or group with access to the file, this person can still access the file.

Remove access

Protect files" "

Protect all files in a shared drive:

Requires Manager access

  1. On the left, click the shared drive that contains the files you want to protect.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenShared drive settings.
  3. Click Edit to set any of these permissions:
    • Sharing files with people outside of your organization
    • Sharing files with people in your organization who aren’t members of the shared drive
    • Allowing people with Commenter and Viewer access to download, copy, or print files
  4. After you choose an option, click Apply.
  5. Click Done.

Protect all files in a shared drive

Prevent people from downloading, printing, or copying a file:

Requires Manager access

  1. Click the file you want to protect.
  2. At the top, click Share Share.
  3. At the bottom, click Who Has Access.
  4. Click More Moreand thencheck the Restrict download, print, & copy actions on this file for commenters and viewers box.
  5. Click Done.

Note: You can limit how people share, print, download, and copy within Google Drive, Docs, Sheets, and Slides, but you can’t stop how others share the file content in other ways.

Prevent downloading, printing, or copying files

See or email members

" "

See members of a shared drive:

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. Under the shared drive name, click the number of members.

Email members of a shared drive:

  1. On the left, click a shared drive.
  2. At the top, next to the shared drive name, click the Down arrow Down Arrowand thenEmail members.
  3. Change the subject and enter your message.
  4. (Optional) To only email members with specific access levels, or to send yourself a copy of the email, check the boxes.
  5. Click Send.

A link to the shared drive is included in the email.

Email members of a shared drive

Shared drives are only available with the G Suite Business, Enterprise, Education, or Nonprofit editions. If you are interested in shared drives, please contact us at support@newmediaone.net or 303.828.9882. 
Copyright © *2018 New Media One*, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:
720 Austin Ave, Suite 202
Erie, CO 80516

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.






Add A Comment